September 9, 2013 Exclusive First Listen: Dream Theater Exclusive First Listen: Dream Theater

GRAMMY-nominated progressive metal band debut "Along For The Ride" from forthcoming self-titled album

GRAMMY-nominated progressive metal band Dream Theater are set to release their new studio album, Dream Theater, on Sept. 24. Ahead of the album's release, has your exclusive first listen to the uplifting melodic track "Along For The Ride."

Originally formed under the name Majesty at Berklee College of Music in Boston in 1985, Dream Theater have emerged as one of the leaders of the progressive metal genre. The group scored their mainstream breakthrough in 1992 with the video for "Pull Me Under," which received heavy airplay on MTV. The song propelled their sophomore album, 1992's Images And Words, to gold status. Dream Theater have earned three Top 20 albums to date: Systematic Chaos (No. 19, 2007), Black Clouds & Silver Linings (No. 6, 2009) and A Dramatic Turn Of Events (No. 8, 2011). The latter album featured "On The Backs Of Angels," a track that earned the group their first career GRAMMY nomination for Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance at the 54th GRAMMY Awards.
The group's 12th studio album, Dream Theater, features nine tracks, including the lead single "The Enemy Inside." Produced by guitarist John Petrucci and engineered by Richard Chycki (Aerosmith, Mick Jagger, Rush), the album showcases the group's patented mind-bending instrumental passages, soaring vocals and epic storyteller-style lyrics.

"We have a great history. We've made a lot of albums that we're incredibly proud of and that are special to us," said Petrucci. "Self-titling this album was a way to illustrate that we remain in a constant state of evolution."

Dream Theater comprise lead vocalist James LaBrie, drummer Mike Mangini, bassist John Myung, guitarist Petrucci, and keyboardist Jordan Rudess. The group will kick off an international tour in support of Dream Theater on Jan. 15, 2014, in Oporto, Portugal.

No comments:

Post a Comment